bcc software logo

USPS Holds First Meeting of the Temporary Emergency Committee (TEC) with New Governors

September 28, 2018

In a private ceremony at the US Treasury Department, Robert M. Duncan of Kentucky and David Williams of Illinois were sworn in as Governors of the U.S. Postal Service®.  Because it requires at least four Governors to have a quorum, the Board of Governors must continue to operate as a Temporary Emergency Committee (TEC). Back in 2014, the Board delegated its authorities to the TEC until it regained enough members to represent a quorum.

Prior to the confirmation of Duncan and Williams, the only other remaining members of the Board (the TEC), were the Postmaster General (PMG) and the Deputy PMG. By statute, they were unable to take actions that are reserved to only appointed governors, including the filing of price and classification changes.

On September 13, the TEC held a half-hour open session, followed by a closed meeting, at USPS headquarters in Washington, DC. Robert Duncan was elected Chairman of the Board and David Williams was elected Chairman of the TEC.

It is anticipated that the committee will soon be voting on a January price change, along with a slate of promotions for 2019.  The current CPI-U figure published is 2.419 percent.

Stay tuned for updates on this from BCC Software.

Read more
Scroll to Top